April 2017 Readathon: Hour #0

Today is Saturday, April 29, 2017 and I am about to being my third Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon!  Needless to say I am super excited.  This year I’m trying something a little different.  While I will keep up with the Dewey’s site, goodreads group, twitter and instagram, I will be cutting my blog updates down.  I feel like every hour was a bit too much and I didn’t necessarily have much to say every hour.  Instead, I will be breaking my updates into three hour increments.  I feel like I will be able to give a better update after three hours of reading.  Plus it will take a bit less time away from my reading.  While I do get caught up in the reading, I’ve found that I was spending anywhere from 10-15 minutes [almost every hour] going between my blog, the Dewey’s website, the goodreads group, twitter and instagram–not to mention the odd youtube post for the hosts of specific hours and/or mini challenges.  And this year I’ve even joined the facebook group so that’s just one more place to take my attention away from reading.

I am determined to finish not just one book, but several books this readathon, so something has to be sacrificed.

I’ve had a terrible night’s sleep thanks to a lightning storm waking me at 4:00 am, I’m starting a little later than I wanted, and I’m tired, but I don’t care!   I’ve taken care of my animals, I’ve got my coffee and brecky, and now I’m prepared to sit down and disappear into another world for a while.  I hope that everyone has a great day, happy reading to my fellow readathoners; I’ll see you back here (hopefully) in a few hours for an update!

And if anyone wants to follow my other social media here’s my twitter where most of my social media goes through so you won’t miss anything.

 

Leave a Reply

