Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon Prep

deweysapril2017

It’s almost here!  In two days the readathon begins, and as I did the two prior times I participated, I’ve been preparing.

First I took some ideas from my fellow readathoners on the Dewey’s Facebook Group and took an old journal that my hubby re-gifted to me and turned it into a proper reading journal.  And by proper I mean it has what I want because I create every page myself.  I bought a pre-made reading journal about a year ago, and while it is nice, it’s limited.  I created my own headings and sections, and (not)art to fit my needs.  I’m not artistically talented in the least, but I did what I could and had fun doing it.PhotoGrid_1493081525116Next I planned and prepared my snacks, which are oh-so-important for the readathon.  You can get so caught up in reading that you could miss a meal or two, so having things planned and prepared makes a huge difference.  Some things I will have set up in my room ready to grab and others I will have to go to the kitchen for, which will give me the chance to move around and stretch (also very important).  I think my snacks are completely different this year.  I tried for a mix of both junky and healthy. 20170425_231342

Picking my TBR list was harder this time than my previous two readathons.  I think it’s a combination of being in a bit of reading slump and having way too many choices.  In my previous two readathons, I think that I focused too heavily on particular books; specifically big reads.  The first time I focused on The Temple of the Winds By Terry Goodkind, and the second I tried for It By Stephen King.  While both times I had multiple physical, ebooks and auidobooks picked as back-up, I only focused on the main reads.  Even though no amount of reading is a failure, I still felt as though I had failed myself by not completely either book.  This time around I had a very hard deciding on books, but once I did, I focused on smaller reads, and books that I have been meaning to read for a long while. 20170427_110241-1

I also have some options queued up on my Kindle, Nook and iPod, and some current reads that I have yet to get through:

Books

Kindle

Nook

Audible

This year in particular, the mods at Dewey’s as well as fellow participants have stressed/encouraged the philanthropic side of the readathon.  Before now, I never really thought about any bookish charities.  I’m sure I’ve seen some in passing, but I never really took the time to think on it.  Then someone posted on the fb group that they were donating a specific amount of money to a charity for every page they read, which was followed by more instances of charitable contributions and a request for everyone to share their favorite bookish charities.  It then dawned on me that I couldn’t, specifically, name one bookish charity, and that made me sad.  As an avid reader and someone who encourages reading, I should know at least one [specific] bookish charity, right?!  And then I received an email update from PaperBackSwap talking about…?  You guessed it, their school donations program.  They’ve picked five Title I Schools & Camps for PBS members to donate to this time around.  Though I don’t have a lot to give, I figure if I can make a lame excuse for going back on my book buying ban and get new books for myself; I can make a legitimate excuse for some kids who need books way more than I do.  The donations work in PBS book credits or PBS cash donations.  I’ll be donating one credit per school which will work out to just about $20 or five books.

Final preparations will be me making drafts for all of my blog updates throughout the day.  I hope to update every hour, but we’ll see how it goes.  I hope everyone else who is participating is prepared and has a great time reading.  And everyone else, if you’re never heard of Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon, or have never participated, give it a try!

If you want to follow my progress, you can do it here on my blog, or on twitter.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. greeniezona says:

    I really liked Parnassus on Wheels! Also, I had totally forgotten about Paperbackswap! I may have to go check that out again.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Virago1977 says:

      I have dry spells on paperbackswap but sometimes I find a goldmine of books to swap! I’m looking forward to readi g Parnassus on Wheels; I hope I get to it on Saturday.

      Like

Leave a Reply

