Read-a-Thon Time, Again

readathon (2017-04-29)

It’s that time again.  The biannual Dewy’s 24-Hour Readathon is almost upon us and I am looking for redemption.  Anyone who followed my progress during the October 2016 readathon knows that my family systematically sabotaged the readathon for me.  It was surprising, because when I participated for the very first time in April of 2016, they were so very supportive and managed to make themselves scarce save the times they checked to make sure I had eaten and hydrated.

Now October 2016 fell on my oldest daughter’s birthday, but she insisted that I participate.  I had even sat aside a few hours to have a birthday dinner, presents and dessert.  I took my book to the restaurant with me and got a little reading in during the wait and the drive.  But when we got home it was like everyone lost their mind and would not leave me be.  But I digress.

This time around I don’t care how much they try to interrupt or distract me.  I will read as much as I can for as long as I can and have fun doing it.  Now I haven’t determined a TBR list for the day because I’ve been in a reading slump for the last 4-6 weeks and I want to wait and see what current reads I finish before Saturday.

Anyway, I encourage everyone to participate even if it’s just as a cheerleader, or to read for an hour or two.  It’s great fun!

Leave a Reply

