Review: Nightblade

nightbladeTitle: Nightblade (The Nightblade Epic #1)
Author: Garrett Robinson
Page Count: 249
Read Date: February 9, 2017-February 10, 2017
Description: Loren dreams of escaping her cruel parents and becoming a great thief: Nightblade, a warrior of darkness and a champion of the light. Following the fugitive sorcerer Xain out of her forest home, she wears a stolen noble’s cloak of fine black cloth and carries a dagger the world has not seen in centuries—a blade that can turn enemies to allies when she least expects it.

Yet something keeps her from using that dagger to take a life.

Soon she crosses paths with the smuggler family of Yerrin, invoking their wrath by stealing their most precious treasure. Yerrin’s reach is long, and they will not stop until they silence Loren forever.

If she can survive, Loren may become the most infamous thief in the world. But if she fails, she will be only the first to burn in a war that threatens all the nine lands.


My Rating: 4 of 5 stars
My Review: I’m sorry I dragged my feet and waited so long to read this. I am that person who got a free copy and then let it sit for nearly two months. And once I cracked it open I kept going, “One more chapter,” until I couldn’t keep my eyes open any longer (I started reading at a ridiculous hour). When I woke, I took care of my animals and then proceeded to power read to the end.

I’ve seen some people say they didn’t like it, but that could be because the first in a series is always about setting the background and leading up to the climax. There was a lot of travel and back story given. This book was wrapped in mystery, and not a lot of it was answered. But that just kept my interest. I just wanted to know what was going to happen. And there was some good action, so I’m not sure what more the naysayers want.

Who is Loren? What secret is her past hiding from even her? Who is Jordel? Is he really a friend? Xain…is he a jerk, or is it just a matter of self-preservation? And why the hell is Loren such a magnet for trouble?! Will her horrible father keep his promise and find her again? And I adore Gem and look forward to seeing where his story goes.

There are so many questions that need answering, and I’m eager to learn, which is exactly what a good series does. Loren has the potential to be an epic (female) protagonist. I am truly anxious to get to the next book. Applause to you Garrett Robinson for hooking me. I’ll see you again at the end of book two, sir.

Sidenote: If you go to the author’s website you can get a free copy of the ebook and sign up for the newsletter/updates.  Mr. Robinson is very interactive with his readers.  He answers emails, does youtube videos and facebook livestreams where he answers questions and gives updates on upcoming books/projects.  I advise everyone to check him out!

Leave a Reply

