Review: milk and honey

milk-and-honey

Title: milk and honey
Author: rupi kaur
Page Count:  208
Read Date: December 5, 2016 to January 4, 2017
Description:

This exclusive hardcover edition includes a new foreword by the author.

Milk and Honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. About the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity.

The book is divided into four chapters, and each chapter serves a different purpose. Deals with a different pain. Heals a different heartache. Milk and Honey takes readers through a journey of the most bitter moments in life and finds sweetness in them because there is sweetness everywhere if you are just willing to look.


My Rating:of 5 stars
My Review: This was just everything. Rupi Kaur gives everything in this book. There is beauty and ugliness, sweetness and sadness, pain and healing. This book makes you feel happy, sad, angry, empowered, and thoughtful all at once. I can see myself in these pages. I can see people I know in these pages. I am reading friends, loved ones, people I love, and hate; people I miss and those I see everyday. I see the author in these words, and she is beautiful and brilliant.

Read this book.

Poetry is a fairly new thing I’m exploring and this book has helped me to appreciate and love it a little more.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. KJoyWrites says:

    This book is definitely on list once I get a chance to stop writing my own books and read something, I definitely will be picking it up. Thanks for the review.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So this was on my TBR/Want to Read list…and now it is on my Kindle and on it’s way to me in book form for my hot little hands to hold on to. Thank you for “tipping the scales.” 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Virago1977 says:

      You’re very welcome. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

