2017 Reading Challenge

In an effort to get myself back to some sense of normalcy, I’ve decided that reading is the best way to attempt it.  I’m going to do my best to meet this challenge.  Thank you Book Riot for creating the 2017 Reading Challenge List, and thank you to Novelknight for coming up with this one:

btbchallengeslider

This is basically a challenge for people like me who have an out of control TBR list, and instead of reading the books that have been on it for ages, we throw them over for new releases/new purchases.  [I have a book buying problem and I’m not ashamed to admit it, lol.]  I have some books that I was so excited about when I first got them, yet the sit on my shelves, neglected.  This challenge is about reading those books that have lived on that shelf for a while, and giving new releases a bit of a break.  Every book picked has to have been published prior to 2017.  I think the newest books on my list were published in 2012, so I’m doing well so far.

I’m looking forward to participating.  Here’s my list:

Beat the Blacklist 2017

Dracula by Bram Stoker [Finished 2017/10/08]
It by Stephen King [Finished 2017/11/04]
The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan [Finished 2017/09/08]
Akira, Vol. 4 by Katsuhiro Otomo [Finished 2017/10/01]
Day by Day Armageddon by J.L. Bourne [Finished 2017/04/29]
John Dies at the End by David Wong [Finished 2017/09/12]
Additions:
Akira, Vol. 1 by Katsuhiro Otomo [Finished: 2017/01/08]
Akira, Vol. 2 by Katsuhiro Otomo [Finished: 2017/01/09]
Akira, Vol. 3 by Katsuhiro Otomo [Finished: 2017/01/10]
Akira, Vol. 5 by Katsuhiro Otomo [Finished 2017/01/19]
Akira, Vol. 6 by Katsuhiro Otomo [Finished 2017/01/19]

It’s not on my “official” list, but it counts because it was published prior to 2017 and I read it in January 2017: milk and honey by rupi kaur [Finished: 2017/01/04] (review to follow)

Note #1: I think I will refer back to this post and strike out books as I complete them.

Note #2: I’ve added more books to my list.  They are technically rereads, but it was necessary in order to read one of the other books on my list and I had not reviewed them when I read them the first time around.  Also it’s a series, so I will probably just finish it off.

 

Leave a Reply

