October Read-a-Thon: Prep

As I write this I have 13:50 hours until Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon, October  2016 begins.  In April I managed to go the entire 24-hours with minore breaks to be fed and watered.  This time I will have at least one lengthy break as it is my daughter’s birthday and we’ll be taking her out for early dinner and dessert.  She has plans after, so I’ll be free to continue the read-a-thon.  As I type this I am experiencing deja vu.  Did I make this exact same post before?  Oh well.

For prep I finally decided on my reading list.  I have one book in particular I want to tackle, but I have back-ups in case I get tired of it or just need a break from it.  I have either physical, ebook, audiobook or some combination of the three for all of my books.  So when my hands get tired, I have and Kindle or Nook, when my eyes get tired I have audiobooks loaded on my iPod.

reading-pile

  1. It by Stephen King
  2. John Dies at the End by David Wong
  3. This Book is Full of Spiders by David Wong
  4. Dracula by Bram Stoker
  5. Watchers by Dean Koontz
  6. Apocalypse Cow by Michael Logan
  7. World War Moo by Michael Logan
  8. Thicker Than Blood by Madeline Sheehan and Claire C. Riley

itjohn-dies-at-the-endthis-books-is-full-of-spidersdracula

watchersapocalypse-cowworld-war-moothicker-than-blood

I’ve got all of my sitting spots picked out.  One of which my pup has commandeered at the moment.

reading-spot

I’ve got fruit and veggies in the fridge and I’ve got not-so-healthy snacks at the ready.

snacks

I’ve got plenty to drink.

drinks

I’m working on getting my blog ready for the hourly updates.  I’ve ordered cupcakes for the kid and the family knows the details of our birthday dinner outing.  Everyone wish me luck.  I hope you enjoy my updates.  Feel free to cheer me on, or join the read-a-thon!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Victoria says:

    I’m so impressed by how prepared you are! It starts at 1am for me, so I won’t be awake then, let alone be able to do the entire 24 hours. Such bad timing for a birthday too! Good luck 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As usual I now have (4) new books added to my TBR pile (David Wong and Michael Logan). Watchers is one of my favorite Koontz books: I love almost all of his stories, but this one is number one for me. I have not been able to read King since I read Pet Sematary when I was 14 and was totally freaked out. I should try him again, but his mind is a scary place.

    As usual I am impressed and awed by your preparation skills. Perhaps for the one in April 2017 I will have to plan and participate. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Virago1977 says:

      You’re welcome! Pet Sematart was my first King book.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

