I Bought Books…

…but hear me out before you scold me!

We all know I put a book buying ban on myself, and I’ve had a hard time sticking with it in the past.  But this isn’t what you think… Sort of… Well it is and it isn’t.

Last night I decided to use the computer to check out this month’s Kindle First offerings.  If you don’t already know, when you’re an Amazon Prime member and own a Kindle you get an opportunity to check out one book per month for free prior to its release.  Each month you get 4-6 books to choose from and you can pick one for  free, and if you want to read any of the others it’s around $4.99 per book.  Normally I do it right from my kindle, but I already had Amazon open in a browser, so why not check?

I clicked on the Kindle Books link and my eyes immediately went to the link for Summer Reading Deals, and I could’t help but click it.  I clicked on the ‘Science Fiction & Fantasy’ link and started scrolling through the offerings.  I noticed that a book I’d been wanting to read for a while was included in the sale.  Further scrolling showed me that the whole series was on sale.  So of course I clicked on the series page and found that it was not only part of Amazon’s daily/weekly deals, but I also received a secondary discount for being a Prime Member.  *high pitched*Whaaaaaaat?!

Long story short, I was offered the entire series for $1.49 per book.  So , yeah, I paid $4.47 for three kindle books that I’d been eyeing for months.  Who would turn that down? Not me!

So I did technichally break my ban and bought new books, but they were Kindle Editions (which doesn’t really count, right?) and I got 3 books for under $5.00.  I can’t be held responsible for that.  No one is strong enough to say no to acquiring an entire series for under $5.00!  Right?  I’m not alone here, am I?

So anyone who has an Amazon account and particularly a Prime Account should go check out the Kindle Books page and click on the link for Summer Reading Deals.  You might find something you’ve been wanting, or something new that interests you.  Most of what I saw was on sale for $.99-2.00.  And for anyone who isn’t sure, you don’t have to own a kindle, you can download the Kindle Reading App to your computer, table, and/or phone.

And the series I bought:

paper magician series
Paper Magician Series

The Paper Magician – Ceony Twill arrives at the cottage of Magician Emery Thane with a broken heart. Having graduated at the top of her class from the Tagis Praff School for the Magically Inclined, Ceony is assigned an apprenticeship in paper magic despite her dreams of bespelling metal. And once she’s bonded to paper, that will be her only magic…forever.

Yet the spells Ceony learns under the strange yet kind Thane turn out to be more marvelous than she could have ever imagined—animating paper creatures, bringing stories to life via ghostly images, even reading fortunes. But as she discovers these wonders, Ceony also learns of the extraordinary dangers of forbidden magic.

An Excisioner—a practitioner of dark, flesh magic—invades the cottage and rips Thane’s heart from his chest. To save her teacher’s life, Ceony must face the evil magician and embark on an unbelievable adventure that will take her into the chambers of Thane’s still-beating heart—and reveal the very soul of the man.

From the imaginative mind of debut author Charlie N. Holmberg, The Paper Magician is an extraordinary adventure both dark and whimsical that will delight readers of all ages.

Short-Listed for the 2015 ALA Fantasy Reading List

*

The Glass Magician – Three months after returning Magician Emery Thane’s heart to his body, Ceony Twill is well on her way to becoming a Folder. Unfortunately, not all of Ceony’s thoughts have been focused on paper magic. Though she was promised romance by a fortuity box, Ceony still hasn’t broken the teacher-student barrier with Emery, despite their growing closeness.

When a magician with a penchant for revenge believes that Ceony possesses a secret, he vows to discover it…even if it tears apart the very fabric of their magical world. After a series of attacks target Ceony and catch those she holds most dear in the crossfire, Ceony knows she must find the true limits of her powers…and keep her knowledge from falling into wayward hands.

The delightful sequel to Charlie N. Holmberg’s The Paper Magician, The Glass Magician will charm readers young and old alike.

*

The Master Magician – Throughout her studies, Ceony Twill has harbored a secret, one she’s kept from even her mentor, Emery Thane. She’s discovered how to practice forms of magic other than her own—an ability long thought impossible.

While all seems set for Ceony to complete her apprenticeship and pass her upcoming final magician’s exam, life quickly becomes complicated. To avoid favoritism, Emery sends her to another paper magician for testing, a Folder who despises Emery and cares even less for his apprentice. To make matters worse, a murderous criminal from Ceony’s past escapes imprisonment. Now she must track the power-hungry convict across England before he can take his revenge. With her life and loved ones hanging in the balance, Ceony must face a criminal who wields the one magic that she does not, and it may prove more powerful than all her skills combined.

The whimsical and captivating follow-up to The Paper Magician and The Glass Magician, The Master Magician will enchant readers of all ages.

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. “So I did technically break my ban and bought new books, but they were Kindle Editions (which doesn’t really count, right?) and I got 3 books for under $5.00. I can’t be held responsible for that. No one is strong enough to say no to acquiring an entire series for under $5.00! Right? I’m not alone here, am I?”

    You are not alone – I would not have walked away from that deal either. Also, I now have three more books that I have to add to my “Want to Read” list…thanks for that. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Virago1977 says:

      Sorry, I’m not sorry, LOL!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

