May Book Haul

I’m soooo late doing this, but I wanted to post my haul for last month because I, once again, broke my book buying ban.  However, several of these I got through  Paperback Swap, so technically I traded, not bought.  A few are from *shudder* Thriftbooks, and one or two purchased from Amazon.  So here we go:

may book haul

The Valley of Horses by Jean M. Auel | This completed my series, plus it is the next in line to read, so it was a must have.

Denton Little’s Death Date by Lance Rubin | This has been on my wishlist for a while.  I’m not even sure where/who put me on to this book, but I’ve been wanting to read it for a while and found a really good copy on *shudder* Thriftbooks.  I’m happy to say that order was problem free and the book is in great shape (This does not change my feelings about the service.  There were too many problems previously for one order to forgive them all.)

The Passage by Justin Cronin | This book was either a free kindle copy or $.99 and the description just jumped out at me.  When a physical copy became available on Swap, I had to get it.

Tommy’s Tale by Alan Cumming | This has also been on my wish list for a long while and became available on Swap I grabbed it up.  When this arrived it reeked of cigarette smoke.  The previous owner did attempt to get rid of the smell with another fragrance; I appreciate the attempt, but it was pointless.  Two days in kitty litter and the book now smells like fresh pine.  Never get rid of smelly books; kitty litter is more than just a cat’s bathroom or a way to soak up spills, lol.

Two Boys Kissing by David Leviathan | I love YA books and anything that promotes thought and tolerance, understanding and examining one’s identity, and personal growth.  It just sounds really fun and interesting; I cannot wait to read it.

Boy Meets Boy by David Leviathan | Again it’s a YA books and as a person who loves reading books with real LGBTQ representation as well as being a parent of two LGBTQ children, I like to have a good variety of books that they want to borrow from mama.  This just sounded like a good book, so I got it.

Finale by Becca Fitzpatrick | Now I have yet to read the other books in the series, but I own them and plan to read them at some point.  I couldn’t continue to allow my series to be incomplete.  The series sounds great and I have read great things about it.  And when I start a series, it is very, very rare that I don’t finish the whole series.  This also aided in my spending $35 to get my order the next day.  Yes, I have a problem, but I know it, and knowing is half the battle…*singing* G.I. Joe!

My June book haul could potentially be larger.  My daughter gave me a stack of manga that she either already read and didn’t want anymore, couldn’t get into and didn’t want to continue trying, or doubles because people do not pay attention to the lists (birthday & Christmas) I give them and buy her books she already owns.  Those books flew off my Swap shelf like hotcakes, which gave me tons of credits.  I’ve been requesting books left and right.  *sigh* It’s an addiction, but it could be something so much worse.  My hubby is thankful for that at lease, lol!

Hope everyone is having a good reading month!

One Comment Add yours

  1. hermionefowl says:

    Those two David Leviathan books sound so good! Can’t wait to hear what you think of them

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

