Bad Reading Week

on

I have had a very bad week of reading.  I’ve struggled all week trying to decide what to read instead of just grabbing a book and reading.

After Dewey’s Read-a-Thon, I toyed with the idea reading the next in the Sword of Truth series, Soul of the Fire I want to continue with the series, but the books are long as hell.  Also, I’ve read some reviews that led me to believe that I will not like this book as much as the previous books.  I try not to rely on reviews too closely because we all have differing opinions on things.  And the reviews weren’t all bad, but sometimes it makes you wonder.  It just seemed like this book has changed it’s tone compared to the others in the series, and some people just don’t like change. Eh *shrugs*

Then there’s Stephen King’s It.  I never got to it during the read-a-thon and it’s been on my TBR pile for quite some time.  But this book is also Long. As. Hell.  I have no aversion to long books, but I’m not sure that I’m currently in the mood to work my way through a super long read.

I cracked open The Princess Bride, but I was not in the right frame of mind to read this particular book. I made it through the Foreword, but couldn’t get past the Introduction– all written by Goldman, by the way.  I just wasn’t into it, and I think it was because I didn’t choose the book so much as it was passive-aggressively forced on me by my hubby.  He bought it for me for my birthday and is desperate for me to read it so I can tell him what a good job he did picking it out.  Apparently my squealing, visible excitement, hugs, kisses, and thanks weren’t reassurance enough that I was very happy with the gift.  *rolls eyes* He apologized for bugging me about it because he knows I have to choose a book that I’m in the mood to read.

I got about 20-30 pages into The Man Who Fell In Love With The Moon, but again I couldn’t get into it.  I don’t know if I’m just not in the mood for it, or if it was the strange style of narration that the book is written in.  And it is odd!  It’s set in the early 1900’s in a back-country mountain mining town.  The narrator is a 15-year-old Indian boy who is a bisexual, prostitute, orphan.  Yeah.  It just gets weirder from there.  I think this is definitely my kind of book, just not this week.

With the sixth season of Game of Thrones starting I’ve been toying with the idea of finally reading A Dance With Dragons.  Again, this will be a hella-long read, and it’ll mean I’ll have nothing left to read until Georgie-boy finally finishes the next book in the series.  Which I fear will never happen.

Or there’s the TBR List I specifically created for 2016.  Or the shelves upon selves of books I have in my room.

*sigh* What to do?  I usually have a little struggle choosing my next read, but I don’t think it’s been this bad in… I don’t know how long.  I’m not the only one, right?

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Janani says:

    Choosing your next read is HARD, especially when you’ve got so many to be read, you’re overwhelmed by the options. I’m a polyreader, so I always have a few books going on at any given time, which is one way for me to finish multiple books and also having options to read, always. Maybe you can try and audiobook? Book slumps are stressful, and sometimes the best way to deal with that jittery feeling of not be able to pick a book to read or not getting into a book- take a break from reading. It’s completely fine. If you’re feeling overwhelmed, step away from your shelves (which are amazing, btw) and engage in some of your other interests. I guarantee you that hankering to pick up a book will come back to you soon and you’ll find yourself picking up a book. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Virago1977 says:

      I usually read multiple books at once too. That way when my mood changes I can shift from book to book. I may just try an audiobook.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. alutzac says:

    Definitely not the only one! I’m trying to get into several books for Goodreads challenges and find myself very torn as to which to read and when. I’m currently not working and should be focusing on more housework but I also find this task daunting and unrelenting. I think I’ll start by finishing up a romance I started at the midway point of last week then go from there.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Virago1977 says:

      We’re in the same boat then; I am also out of work. I should be focusing on writing, and keeping up on the housework, but I always find myself buried in a new book. I usually like to read at least one book a week, but it doesn’t always work out like that. Oh well, I’ll figure it out somehow.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. alutzac says:

        Same! I feel no sense of accomplishment of I’ve not read something in full during a week. It depresses me and pushes me to over do it the next week. Hubby and I did get out MOUNTAINS of clean laundry folded yesterday; I made up the bed fresh and emptied/filled the dish washer. Today I might tackle the winter stuff (put it all away), the kitchen and the bathroom. We’ll see I guess lol

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Virago1977 says:

        Ack! I don’t even want to think about putting away winter stuff! I think my biggest task this week will be (besides deciding on a book) finding a new vacuum. *sigh* ours has chosen to die.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. alutzac says:

        Ours is super shitty but, still works, so thankfully I don’t have your dilemma

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Yup, you are not alone. I started reading Jane Two because I want to take it to Comic Con and see if he’ll autograph it for me and I figured I should read it first – huh? 🙂 I’m only about 60 pages in because I have to find a minute to myself to read, but so far I’m enjoying it.I also have a couple of other books going but I’m trying to focus on this one for now. I feel you pain. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Virago1977 says:

      It’s rough. I haven’t cracked open Jane Two yet

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

