Read-a-Thon Prep Meets Sentimentality

As another way to prepare for the upcoming Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon, I decided to make sure I had the books on my Nook Color and Kindle properly organized.

It turns out I have used all of the internal memory on my Nook and I had to start moving books over to exernal memory (SD card).  I have OCD and this little plan to organize turned into such an ordeal!  At one point, I seriously considered using the erase/deregister function so I could start from scratch.  But I looked at the registration date on my account and it was February 14, 2011.

Then the misty, gushiness started.  My hubby bought me the Nook Color for Valentine’s Day.  But it wasn’t just any Valentine’s Day gift.  My birthday is only a few days before Valentine’s and our anniversary is a few days after, so he has a triple whammy for that week and a half.  But this particular year, this particular month, we were in a bad way financially, so extras were a no-go.  I was super depressed because it hadn’t been a good birthday year, and Valentine’s was also shaping up to be not-so-great.

My hubby, being the ridiculously good man that he is, took $250 that we really couldn’t spare, and bought me a Nook Color.  I had been talking about getting an eReader for months and the Nook Color was the front-runner–which proves that on occasion he does listen when I talk, lol!  When I came home from work he was there waiting with it.

It was probably one of the sweetest, most thoughtful things he’s ever done for me.  I cried, which for those who know me, isn’t something that happens.  Up until a few years ago, hubby could count on one hand the number of times he had seen me cry.  We’ve been together 23 years, so do the math.  Anyway, this Nook has a huge amount of sentimental value to me and when I thought it was dying it really upset me.  And the prospect of erasing that 2/14/11 registration date just doesn’t sit right with me.  It’s silly, I know, but I just can’t do it.  I have vowed to love and use this obsolete piece of tech until the day it literally dies.

So no the is plan to just remove everything from the internal and external memory and start from scratch that way.  I’ll just have to put most of my books on the external memory in order to leave plenty of internal memory so it will run a little better.

Leave a Reply

