Future Reading Endeavours

So I came across the link for a 24-hour read-a-thon [check it out here].  I feel like I have come across this in the past, but I honestly can’t remember.  I only know one thing for sure, I am super excited to participate in this event!

I’ve always been an avid reader, but in recent years I’ve been a bit of a slacker.  I’ve gotten back into the reading groove in the last two years, although there is still a lot a room for improvement.  When I came across the website for this event I squee’d with excitement.  It just sounds like so much fun.  I never needed an excuse to spend a full 24-hours reading, but this at least gives me an excuse for my family to support me [read: leave me undisturbed].

When I mentioned it to my husband, the first thing he said was, “Let me know the date and me and the girls will leave you alone.”  I was surprised and yet not.  I haven’t stayed with this man for 23 years just for the hell of it.  He can be a major pain in the rear, but he’s always pretty much the best hubby ever!  But as our lives and work schedules have changed, lately he can be very stingy about me doing anything that doesn’t involve him.  Meaning, he likes to monopolize most of my time when it’s his ‘weekend’.  But he has promised not to bother me unless it’s an actual emergency, and to make sure I stay supplied with food, drinks and snacks.  My girls are also on board with letting mama have a whole 24-hours without needing to be in my back pocket.

As far as what to read, I was gonna wing it, and likely I still will, but I decided to make a TBR pile for the day, just because it seemed like a good idea.

So my TBR is:

 

Temple Of The Winds has been on my TBR/Curently Reading pile for a while.  I started the series not long after the TV show first aired and I tore through the first three books very quickly.  I started this one and sat it down for some unknown reason and just never picked it back up.  I was enjoying the book, I remember that much.  This probably happened around the time I went into my reading slump, so that could be a reason for never returning to the book.  But the bookmark is still in the place I stopped and I still mostly remember what I already read (I’ll skim just to refresh.)  So my goal is to cut a big dent into this book, if not finish it all together.

My back ups, in case I can’t get back into that book on that particular day, or in case I need just a change of pace:

    

It has been on my TBR pile for ages.  I am a fan of Stephen King’s novels, and while I don’t always love what they do with the movie versions, It was phenomenal in that it was creepy as hell.  And Tim Curry made for one scary clown!  I know I will picture him as Pennywise when I finally do read this.

The Princess Bride is also a favorite move of mine and for the longest time I didn’t even realize it was based on a book.  Once I did, it went on my wish list.  Hubby actually got me a beautiful hardcover anniversary edition this year for my birthday.  Funny story, he didn’t even look on my wishlist, he had just been talking to some ladies from work about favorite movies and books, and when he mentioned that I loved the movie, they suggested that he buy me the book.  He’s dying for me to read it because he wants to know that he did a good job buying it.  Now matter how many times I tell him I’m thrilled to have it, he won’t believe it until I read it and tell him it was fantastic.

The Raven Cycle Series has been on my radar for a while, and very recently I’ve been seeing lots of recommendations from various people to read it.  I found the current three books for a decent price and splurged.  Now I’m trying to coordinate reading them with the [eventual] paperback release of the fourth book in the series.  I know if I love it I’ll get through the ones I have quickly, and my OCD will not allow me to have three paperpbacks and one hardcover.  Well it will, but it will cause me mental anguish to look at.  I’ve got that going on with another series that I own and every time I look I just cringe.  [I’m waiting to find the paperback version for the right price so I can fix my collection.]

Yes Please is the audiobook version so if my eyes feel ready to fall out, I can continue on reading…with my ears.  And with the cast narrating this, it should be an awesome listen!

Now of course both my Nook and Kindle are filled with other options in case I just want something different.  Not to mention the many shelves of books in my room.  No matter what I end up reading, I’m gearing up to just have a fun time with the read-a-thon!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. hermionefowl says:

    I’m doing the readathon too, and I can’t wait! I’m like you, I’m only going to plan a vague TBR, and it’ll probably change on the day. Good luck! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Virago1977 says:

      Thanks! Good luck to you too. I hope you have fun!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

