Is Really Writer’s Block?

According to Wiki “writers block” is defined as:

A condition, primarily associated with writing as a profession, in which an author loses the ability to produce new work. The condition varies widely in intensity. It can be trivial, a temporary difficulty in dealing with the task at hand. At the other extreme, some “blocked” writers have been unable to work for years on end, and some have even abandoned their careers. It can manifest as the affected writer viewing their work as inferior or unsuitable, when in fact it could be the opposite. The condition was first described in 1947 by psychoanalyst Edmund Bergler.[1]

This happens to me often in more ways than one.  I have writers block and on occasion my cat lays himself on my keyboard/laptop/notebook blocking my ability to write.  (This isn’t my kitty but it’s cute and it works.)

 

But can what I have really be called writers block? Clearly not because I’m writing this blog.  I have the desire and the ideas all in my head.  Hell, in some cases I have the material already written for me in notebooks; all I have to do is type, tweak and proofread.

Am I being lazy?  Well I’m certainly not lazy when it comes to writing.  It’s pretty much my biggest (non-family) love and also an escape from my sad, mundane reality.  (Again, not my kitty, but adorable!)

Don’t get me wrong, I love a good laze about, especially on my weekends.  After working at a job with a psychotic, power-tripping executive director that likes to remind everyone that she’s the boss and it’s an “At Will Company”–no shit bitch, Pennsylvania is an “At Will” state–that pays me crap for salary, oh yeah and did I mention my mother is my Program Director?  Yeah it sounds like a picnic being the boss’ daughter; however, if I had it to do over again, I would stab myself in the eyes before agreeing to take a job with my mom.  I love my mom, but I have no need to see her every god damn day for eight fucking hours!  But I digress;  I’ve gotten off topic.  I like to laze about on the weekends; who doesn’t?

Am I Procrastinating?   I’m not procrastinating because I pull my materials out on a daily basis and open them up trying to pick up where I left off.  All I can manage lately is to just look at it.  (Still not my kitty.)

And I am the queen procrastinator.  Why do today what you can put off until next week I always say.  I try to never volunteer my services to anyone because I like to get things done in my time….which doesn’t always coincide with other people’s timelines.  I once decorated three days before Christmas.  Although that could have had more to do with me loathing the holiday and abhorring putting up decorations of any kind, more-so than procrastinating.

I think what I am is more like blah. I have the desire, the inspiration, the material to get some writing–any writing done.  I just can’t do it.  I’m just blah and it may have everything to do with the time of year.  Love winter; hate holidays.  They make me Blah! (And sometimes even a little psycho.)

Hey maybe making the effort to complain about it in a public forum it will bust me out of this writing rut.  I’ll guess we’ll see.  And yes, this is my kitty.  Isn’t he the cutest thing ever?!

Leave a Reply

